Spring Thing Aftermath: Beggar at the Feast

Well, that’s that for the Main Festival of the IF Spring Thing. It occurs to me that I really should have tried live-tweeting as I played … maybe I’ll do that for the IFcomp. Good idea? Bad idea? Tell me what you think.

I’m going to be shameless for a moment here and say: if you enjoyed those reviews, please consider backing the book I’m publishing on Inkshares. $5* can make all the difference.

(I hate selling myself….)

Anyway! Next up on the IF scene are the Xyzzys. I confess that I do not think I’ve voted on these before, on account of having been busy with work and other Life activities in the past. Looking at the list of finalists … hmmm, what haven’t I played and eaten? I mean, reviewed?

I’ve played “Hollywood Visionary”, but not reviewed it. I should do that. On the unplayed list, I have:

  • Beautiful Dreamer
  • Chlorophyll
  • Neon Haze
  • Sunless Sea
  • Oppositely Opal
  • Scroll Thief
  • Hana Feels
  • Winter Storm Draco
  • Aspel
  • Secret Agent Cinder
  • Sorcery! 3 (what, really?)
  • We Know the Devil

Will I be able play and review all of these before the Xyzzys? Probably not. And I still want to talk about my journey with Inkshares, too … I mean, that’s the reason I started the blog in the first place, after all. But there are a couple of titles up there that look particularly tasty, so I think I’m going to go ahead and play/review what I can.

*- The minimum backing amount is $10, which gets you an e-book once publication happens; but Inkshares also gives each new member (you’ll have to sign up to back anything anyway, no two ways about it) $5 in credits just for signing up. Just remember to claim the credits from the “You’ve got credits!” email first: click the “claim” button.

This entry was posted in Reviews and Recommendations, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spring Thing Aftermath: Beggar at the Feast

  1. sojournerstrange says:

    Sunless Sea is a bit of an odd one out there. It’s going to take much, much longer to play (or even start to experience) than any of the rest, and you’ll need to learn how to steer a ship and perform/evade realtime combat.

    Aspel, otoh, is multiplayer and will require finding fellow-players IIRC.

    Like

    • I might have to give “Aspel” a miss, then, and maybe reserve “Sunless Sea” for those long Summer months before IFcomp. In the meantime, I’ve heard good things about “Oppositely Opal”, and “Scroll Thief” looks really interesting. And “Chlorophyll” is a Steph Cherrywell game, and I’ve been favourably impressed by her stuff in the past. I’m looking forward to those, but then again, maybe I should explore the Total Unknowns first.

      Like

Leave a Reply

