Mystery Casting

The first Agatha Christie I ever read was “Murder on the Orient Express”. I may have been too young to properly appreciate it at the time; but I remember that the edition I had included, at the beginning, a dramatis personae: a list of all the characters, with  a short but intriguing description. It was almost more fun to read over this cast list and imagine the shenanigans they might get up to….

In a way, this is one of the prime elements of mystery stories, I think: the cast of diverse characters and the interactions that derive from them. “And Then There Were None” is derived almost entirely from the interactions between the members of the dwindling cast.

For the past little while, I have been introducing the characters of “Murder at the Veterans’ Club” one by one, via my weekly updates. At this point, I have introduced the five club officers–that is, the members of the board that runs the place. There are other characters, of course, but these are the five to begin with. I’m hoping that they look sufficiently intriguing … that, as with my first experience with Christie, the mere descriptions will be enough to provoke questions as to just how they add up to a mystery.

c-mainwaring

c-norris

c-garrett

c-bradshaw

c-saxon

This entry was posted in Mystery and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mystery Casting

  1. Felix says:

    I say characters are everything in no matter what kind of story. When the setting itself is memorable, look closely and you’ll see it’s been treated like just another character. That said, I find it hard to picture your characters just from their descriptions; I’d need to see them in action. Perhaps because they’re *static* — described as something they *are*, not something they *do*. But then again, they’re members of a British gentleman’s club, which means their main trait is that they hang around together a lot…

    Like

Leave a Reply

